If you purposefully throw an accurate pass to a square adjacent to a player with Diving Catch, what modifiers are there to his catch roll?
I assume the +1 from Diving Catch is not applicable as he isn't in the targeted square. However, I'm not sure whether or not the +1 for catching an accurate pass applies or not.
Clarification appreciated.
Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
Moderator: TFF Mods
- howabe
- Experienced
- Posts: 91
- Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:31 am
- Location: Frankfurt am Main
- Rolex
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 454
- Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:24 pm
Re: Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
CRP says:
"The player may add 1 to any catch roll from an accurate pass targeted to his square"
The anwer is in the rulebook.
"The player may add 1 to any catch roll from an accurate pass targeted to his square"
The anwer is in the rulebook.
Reason: ''
- howabe
- Experienced
- Posts: 91
- Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:31 am
- Location: Frankfurt am Main
Re: Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
Yeah, this was the part I said I assume does not apply.Rolex wrote:CRP says:
"The player may add 1 to any catch roll from an accurate pass targeted to his square"
The anwer is in the rulebook.
The part in question is:
"[...]]the player can attempt to catch any pass [...] as if it had landed in his own square".
If an accurate pass lands in your square, you get +1 to the catch roll. This wording seems to imply you would also get the +1 in this case, but I was seeking confirmation.
Also, I assume no SPP is earnt for the completion, even when this is the intended receiver of the pass?
Reason: ''
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
All correct.
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
- mzukerman
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 396
- Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 7:34 pm
- Location: Long Island, NY
- Contact:
Re: Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
This is something I didn't realize. I'm not sure I agree with it, although now that I look it up, I see the way the rule for gaining an SPP for a completion is supposed to work. I think that kind of a rule skews a little more towards elf and high-AG development. Inaccurate passes or ones targeted into the middle of a scrum that hopefully gets caught should get SPPs as well IMHO.howabe wrote:Also, I assume no SPP is earnt for the completion, even when this is the intended receiver of the pass?
Just my 2c.
Reason: ''
"I reserve the right to change my predictions when they are no longer true. I am The Media." ~ Snob Costas
libloodbowl on Twitter
Long Island Blood Bowl League
Empire Cup

libloodbowl on Twitter
Long Island Blood Bowl League
Empire Cup
- Buggrit
- Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
- Posts: 1442
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 2:38 pm
- Location: Leading the G.W.A. Nation!
Re: Diving Catch - Accurately passing to neighbouring square
It stops the farming of SPPs by throwing the ball one square short (and potentially a range shorter on the distance...) catching the ball from an accurate Long Pass to a Diving Catcher instead of what would be a Long Bomb to a player without it, or more likely catching a Short Pass instead of a Long Pass.
Reason: ''