
Just wanted something on the flowchart, and the way Fumbbl has done it seems like a sensible interpretation.
Moderator: TFF Mods
I disagree. It is the Troll trying to eat the goblin. He succeeds with his lunch munch on a 1dreamscreator wrote: logical should be the goblin as he's who is trying to avoid be eaten.
My highlight on the Always Hungry skill text. He is referring to the Troll. Whilst a little sexist (where are the lady trolls?) it is clear the text is referring the player who trying to perform a throw - the Troll.Always Hungry (Extraordinary)
The player is always ravenously hungry – and what's more, he"ll eat
absolutely anything! Should the player ever use the Throw Team-Mate
skill, roll a D6 after he has finished moving, but before he throws his
team-mate. On a 2+ continue with the throw. On a roll of 1 he attempts to
eat the unfortunate team-mate! Roll the D6 again, a second 1 means that
he successfully scoffs the team-mate down, which kills the team-mate
without opportunity for recovery (Apothecaries, Regeneration or anything
else cannot be used). If the team-mate had the ball it will scatter once
from the team-mate's square. If the second roll is 2-6 the team-mate
squirms free and the Pass Action is automatically treated as a fumbled
pass. Fumble the player with the Right Stuff skill as normal.
Next level of stupidity. He's hungry but is so stupid that can't eat the goblinlunchmoney wrote:I disagree. It is the Troll trying to eat the goblin. He succeeds with his lunch munch on a 1dreamscreator wrote: logical should be the goblin as he's who is trying to avoid be eaten.
This is genuinely not how I would read those same rules (AH rules, not Blood Lust). The rules talk about the Troll "successfully" scoffing the Goblin or the Goblin squirming free. There are lots of times in Blood Bowl we roll dice to represent opposed actions (not least Dodging and Blocking) and the currently active player is always the one rolling the dice unless stated otherwise.harvestmouse wrote:The thrall is completely passive where as the right stuff player wriggles free. This is an active action by the little guy and therefore should be his roll.
The intention is apparently obvious to both of us and yet we don't agree what it is! There is a quote from Galak somewhere that I'm trying to find that (paraphrasing from memory) says there is no such thing as intention when it comes to rules. Arguing that the Goblin rolls is exactly the same level of nonsense geekism as arguing that the Troll does, it's all just looking at at the rules as written.harvestmouse wrote:When it's ambiguous I think you should look at the intention rather than wording of the rules. Looking for loopholes and missed meaning in rules definitions is nonsense geekism.
Correct, but often they will go to the NAF clarifications page. I would have thought as a goblin coach you would prefer no loner.dreamscreator wrote: In resolution, and until we have a clarification, is a TO who should decide.
I would prefer no loner, but as you said, it would be very unusual expend a reroll in that. Maybe now, with the Doom Dive and in leagues could be more usual I guess.sann0638 wrote:Correct, but often they will go to the NAF clarifications page. I would have thought as a goblin coach you would prefer no loner.dreamscreator wrote: In resolution, and until we have a clarification, is a TO who should decide.
But tbh, how often would you save the reroll for that? It just wouldn't often happen.
The troll is not passively allowing the goblin to wriggle free: he takes an active part in this action as well as he is trying to eat him. Both players are active in this scenario, but the Action is that of the troll.harvestmouse wrote:This is an active action by the little guy and therefore should be his roll.
I absolutely disagree. The wording is the only place from which we can garner the intention unless the intention is subsequently made clear, either by errata or by someone who wrote the rule giving us an informal insight here, for example. When we start trying to ascertain the intention rather than reading what is written we add an extraneous layer of *our own interpretation*.When it's ambiguous I think you should look at the intention rather than wording of the rules.
This isn't 2nd edition.The rule originates from 2nd edition.
hutchinsfairy wrote:There is a quote from Galak somewhere that I'm trying to find
viewtopic.php?p=768427#p768427GalakStarscraper wrote: [rant mode on]
!@#$!@#@#$!#$ ... there is no such @#$@#$@# thing as intent in a rules document ...
ESPECIALLY when the wording for the CRP was already perfectly clear and did not have any need for a @#$&$%^*^&%&^@#% FAQ
[/rant mode off]
Good point, previous post amended.CyberedElf wrote:I don't think that Always Hungry being the trolls skill is proof. A player can re-roll getting away from Tentacles on an opponent. A skill can cause a different player to make a die roll.
That's because Tentacles explicitly states it the player leaving the TZ that makes the roll.CyberedElf wrote: Jumping to the other side:
While it may be suggestive (as are which player is currently taking the Action and the 2nd ed. rules), I don't think that Always Hungry being the trolls skill is proof. A player can re-roll getting away from Tentacles on an opponent. A skill can cause a different player to make a die roll.
There are lots of differences (not least that it is the moving players turn and action) but it does refute my earlier argument that Always Hungry being on the Troll proves it's the Troll's roll.lunchmoney wrote:That's because Tentacles explicitly states it the player leaving the TZ that makes the roll.CyberedElf wrote: Jumping to the other side:
While it may be suggestive (as are which player is currently taking the Action and the 2nd ed. rules), I don't think that Always Hungry being the trolls skill is proof. A player can re-roll getting away from Tentacles on an opponent. A skill can cause a different player to make a die roll.
While I was also quoting CRP, the new rules have changed to non-gender specific pronouns. GW has officially allowed lady trolls to play.lunchmoney wrote: He is referring to the Troll. Whilst a little sexist (where are the lady trolls?) it is clear the text is referring the player who trying to perform a throw - the Troll.
And AH explicitly states the team-mate squirms free on some results. I think this is very much outweighed by other portions in the description of AH. As with Tentacles, the description of the skill is to be considered. I was only stating that it would be erroneous to assume it is the troll making the roll based only on the fact that it is the troll's skill. I was commenting on relative validity of a single portion of the argument. I felt it is a less valid point than how I interpreted some people presented it, not that it was an invalid point.lunchmoney wrote:That's because Tentacles explicitly states it the player leaving the TZ that makes the roll.