Page 1 of 1

LRB 5 Bombs and Turnovers

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 4:36 pm
by kadu-c
Hello,
I have 3 questions about the Bombs.

1/It's written that when a Bombardier fumbles the bomb it's not a turnover.
But what happens if it's another player from the moving team (ie: not the original Bombardier) who fumbles the bomb ?

2/If the Bombardier is knocked down because his own bomb has scattered near him, is it a turnover ?

3/Another question just to check if I'm right: when a player from the moving team is knocked down due to a bomb, it's a turnover right ?

Thanks for your help. :)

Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 5:46 pm
by Father911
1) Fumbling the bomb is not in itself a turnover, but being knocked down is. And since a fumbled bomb explodes in the bombardiers square automatically knocking him down then it is a turnover.

2)Yes

3)Yes as mentioned above.

So basically if you fumble a bomb it IS a turnover, it's just caused by being knocked over rather than the fumble.

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:54 am
by kadu-c
Ok thanks for your answer. :)
The wording is really confusing... :-?

Posted: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:17 pm
by GalakStarscraper
kadu-c wrote:Ok thanks for your answer. :)
The wording is really confusing... :-?
We'll work on that.

Galak

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:30 pm
by Tomba
GalakStarscraper wrote:
kadu-c wrote:Ok thanks for your answer. :)
The wording is really confusing... :-?
We'll work on that.

Galak
Can I just add a 'me too' to that?

This came up in our game last night and I was going to post to get a clarification but then found this thread.

The wording, I believe is meant to say that the fumbling of the bomb is not an automatic turnover (as it is with the ball) but I also assume that the first condition for a turnover still stands (ie a player on the moving team is knocked over then a turnover happens).

BUT: The wording says that a turnover doesn't happen when the bomb is fumbled; but if the bomber fumbles, he is knocked over automatically by the bomb and thus a turnover *does* happen.

The rules do appear to contradict themselves, and perhaps this wording needs adjusting and a clarification added to the FAQ?

Tomba

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:34 pm
by fen
It's not exactly that the rules contradict themselves.

It's just that the whole 'pass the bomb' situation can result in opposing players fumbling a pass in the active players turn. Now if this did happen without that wording then it would be a turnover regardless because the rule for fumbles doesn't actually care who fumbles the ball (Dump Off has a similar exclusion to avoid this.)

I think there just needs to be clarifying text that makes it clear that "A turnover occurs if the bomb detonation knocks over a player on the active team." And a little reorganising so that the text about fumbled bombs mentions that they detonate right afterwards.

A quick try here: I've italicised my changes and broken the text apart just for ease of reading.
Bombardier (Extraordinary)
A coach may choose to have a Bombardier who is not Prone or Stunned throw a bomb instead of taking any other Action with the player. This does not use the team's Pass Action for the turn.

The bomb is thrown using the rules for throwing the ball (including weather effects), except that the player may not move or stand up before throwing it (he needs time to light the fuse!). (Is stand up needed here? As the first sentence already excludes prone players from trying to throw a bomb)

Intercepted bomb passes and fumbles do not cause turnovers, but a player from the moving team being Knocked Down by the bomb detonating will. (See Turnover Rules on page 8.)


All skills that may be used when a ball is thrown may be used when throwing a bomb.

A bomb may be intercepted or caught using the same rules for catching the ball, in which case the player catching it must throw it again immediately. This is a special bonus (Pass?) Action that takes place out of the normal sequence of play.

A player holding the ball can catch or intercept and throw a bomb.

The bomb explodes when it lands in an empty square or an opportunity to catch the bomb fails or is declined (i.e., bombs don’t ‘bounce’). If a bomb lands in the crowd, it explodes with no effect. If the bomb is fumbled it explodes in the bomb thrower’s square. (Slight reordering to allow flowing straight to the detonation rules from the fumble)

When the bomb finally does explode any player in the same square is Knocked Down, and players in adjacent squares are Knocked Down on a roll of 4+.

Players can be hit by a bomb and treated as Knocked Down even if they are already Prone or Stunned.

Make Armour and Injury rolls for any players Knocked Down by the bomb. If a player from the moving team is Knocked Down by this, it will cause a Turnover.

Casualties caused by a bomb do not count for Star Player points.
I'm sure it can be cleaned further, but how's that for starters?

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 1:56 pm
by GalakStarscraper
fen wrote:I'm sure it can be cleaned further, but how's that for starters?
That's pretty good fen. The only thing I would change is to not put in the (Pass?) change you have above for the bonus Action. The rules specifically say that bomb throwing is not a Pass Action .... so it should not say it at that point either.

Galak

Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:30 pm
by fen
I thought as much, which is why it was in brackets with a ?