Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Moderator: TFF Mods
- Bakunin
- Star Player
- Posts: 516
- Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:39 am
- Location: Norsca
Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
It is the last turn in a match. One of my players fail a GFI into the endzone.
He falls and dies. The ball scatter one of my players standing in the endzone.
Do I get a TD or is the game over as soon as I failed my GFI ?
I would rule that I get the TD.
He falls and dies. The ball scatter one of my players standing in the endzone.
Do I get a TD or is the game over as soon as I failed my GFI ?
I would rule that I get the TD.
Reason: ''
Galak 3:16 says "There is a point in time that a player really should read the rulebook."
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Yep, I would say so. Being knocked down ends your turn, but there is no reason to end the game until the ball has stopped bouncing.
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
-
- Legend
- Posts: 2035
- Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 1:18 pm
- Location: London, England
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
I would say yes, as soon as you have a player standing in the enemy end zone with the ball you score. Note you can score when it isn't your turn.
Reason: ''
- Darkson
- Da Spammer
- Posts: 24047
- Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
- Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
- Contact:
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
So the turn doesn't end until the "clean-up" is done.CRP p.8 wrote:A coach that suffers a turnover is not allowed to take any further Actions that turn, and any Action being taken ends immediately even if it was only partially completed. Make armour and injury rolls for players that were knocked down, and if the ball was dropped then roll to see where it bounces to normally. Stunned players should be turned face up, and then the opposing coach
may start to take his turn.
Emphasis as per the CRP.CRP p.15 wrote:A team scores a touchdown during their turn when one of their players is standing in the opposing team’s End Zone while holding the ball at the end of any of your players' Actions.
Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
-
- Rookie
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:38 pm
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
There is a difference between turn and Action. If an action ends immediately, then it is before any other rolls! And a TD is scored if a player is holding the ball in the End Zone "at the end of any of your players' Actions".Darkson wrote:So the turn doesn't end until the "clean-up" is done.CRP p.8 wrote:A coach that suffers a turnover is not allowed to take any further Actions that turn, and any Action being taken ends immediately even if it was only partially completed. Make armour and injury rolls for players that were knocked down, and if the ball was dropped then roll to see where it bounces to normally. Stunned players should be turned face up, and then the opposing coach
may start to take his turn.Emphasis as per the CRP.CRP p.15 wrote:A team scores a touchdown during their turn when one of their players is standing in the opposing team’s End Zone while holding the ball at the end of any of your players' Actions.
In this case the Action has already ended when the player catches the bounce. => no TD until the opponents turn.
Reason: ''
-
- Legend
- Posts: 2035
- Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 1:18 pm
- Location: London, England
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
If that were the case, since I cant use a wizard after anything has happened how does that work?Noble wrote:In this case the Action has already ended when the player catches the bounce. => no TD until the opponents turn.
I am quite happy for it to be part of the 'clean up'.
Reason: ''
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Comes down to rules lawyering, this one.
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
-
- Rookie
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:20 pm
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
It is the last turn in a match.
One of my players has the ball
the opponent blitzes and rolles both down
in my endzone the opponent has a player, the ball ends up on that player
Dos the opponent get a TD or is the game over as soon as the opponent failed the block ?
or
if it is my turn ( still being the last trun of the match ) and i failed a.
A- go for it.
B- dodge.
C- hand of.
D- pass.
E- catch.
F- pick up.
G- block (skull(`s)
H- blitz
I- foul
or
J- if i surf my self and it is a throw in form the crowds
and then
the ball ends up on one of the opponents player in my endzone is it a TD
One of my players has the ball
the opponent blitzes and rolles both down
in my endzone the opponent has a player, the ball ends up on that player
Dos the opponent get a TD or is the game over as soon as the opponent failed the block ?
or
if it is my turn ( still being the last trun of the match ) and i failed a.
A- go for it.
B- dodge.
C- hand of.
D- pass.
E- catch.
F- pick up.
G- block (skull(`s)
H- blitz
I- foul
or
J- if i surf my self and it is a throw in form the crowds
and then
the ball ends up on one of the opponents player in my endzone is it a TD
Reason: ''
-
- Legend
- Posts: 3544
- Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 2:02 am
- Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
I think these things are typically played by "convention" in the traditional British manner, rather than by "rules lawyering" in the traditional American fashion. I have to say I have never played or observed a game in which there has been any dispute over when the turn "ends".
In an ideal world, the rulebook would contain a definition of what constitutes a turn, when it begins, when it ends, and what (if anything) takes place between turns. This could be done in a simple glossary to avoid clutter.
But we have what we have.
All the best.
In an ideal world, the rulebook would contain a definition of what constitutes a turn, when it begins, when it ends, and what (if anything) takes place between turns. This could be done in a simple glossary to avoid clutter.
But we have what we have.
All the best.
Reason: ''
Smeborg the Fleshless
- daloonieshaman
- Legend
- Posts: 2103
- Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:58 pm
- Location: Pasadena California
- Contact:
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
TOUCHDOWN when the ball stops moving and ends up in a players hands who is standing in the approprate endzonerunewinther wrote:It is the last turn in a match.
One of my players has the ball
the opponent blitzes and rolles both down
in my endzone the opponent has a player, the ball ends up on that player
Dos the opponent get a TD or is the game over as soon as the opponent failed the block ?
TOUCHDOWN
or
if it is my turn ( still being the last trun of the match ) and i failed a.
A- go for it.
B- dodge.
C- hand of.
D- pass.
E- catch.
F- pick up.
G- block (skull(`s)
H- blitz
I- foul
or
J- if i surf my self and it is a throw in form the crowds
and then
the ball ends up on one of the opponents player in my endzone is it a TD
Reason: ''
-
- Super Star
- Posts: 835
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:36 pm
- Location: Italy
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Yes.Bakunin wrote:
I would rule that I get the TD.
Your turn ends when your player fails the GFI, after that the ball bounces and IF it is caught by another player on your team standing in the End Zone THEN the TD is scored, technically in-between your just-ended turn and your opponent's turn.
By the way, on Cyanide a Dwarf runner tripped while dodging to the square where the ball was (I was marking it with 2-3 WE players), the ball bounced and ended into another Dwarf Runner's hands, who scored the TD.

Reason: ''

- burgun824
- Legend
- Posts: 2274
- Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 9:27 pm
- Location: Nashville, TN
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Yes...I concur. TD for you.
...but why did you just have another player standing in the end zone?
...and why hadn't he been surfed yet?
...but why did you just have another player standing in the end zone?
...and why hadn't he been surfed yet?
Reason: ''
-
- Super Star
- Posts: 835
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 4:36 pm
- Location: Italy
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
New metagame: crowding the End Zone with Stand Firm/Side Step players waiting for a scattering ball.


Reason: ''

- Loki
- Legend
- Posts: 2583
- Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:10 am
- Location: Bristol, UK
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
It's rare but if it come down to a player needing a GFi into the Endzone and you happen to have players who can stand in the adjacent squares, why not do it? I know I have down it in the past i.e. when moving them them there involves no more dice rolls than just leaving them where they are. If you get one either side, if (whenburgun824 wrote:Yes...I concur. TD for you.
...but why did you just have another player standing in the end zone?

Reason: ''
-
- Super Star
- Posts: 815
- Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:37 pm
Re: Failed GFI in endzone, TD or not?
Vampires maybe? Always need a snack in the endzone when carrying with a vamp, just in case of last second hungerburgun824 wrote:Yes...I concur. TD for you.
...but why did you just have another player standing in the end zone?
...and why hadn't he been surfed yet?
Reason: ''