bb2016 reroll
Moderator: TFF Mods
- daloonieshaman
- Legend
- Posts: 2103
- Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:58 pm
- Location: Pasadena California
- Contact:
bb2016 reroll
If there is an explosion (bomb, wizard ect)
can the players who's turn it is get to use a reroll to roll the 4+ being knocked over
why or why not
please provide rules references (page numbers ect)
can the players who's turn it is get to use a reroll to roll the 4+ being knocked over
why or why not
please provide rules references (page numbers ect)
Reason: ''
- Wifflebat
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:56 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA
Re: bb2016 reroll
Based on the way everything else in Blood Bowl works, I'd say the answer is an obvious "no." But I'm guessing you know that and want to rules lawyer it out.
For the easy part: a wizard is not "a player on his own team" as specified in the re-roll rules, so nothing relating to a Wizard can ever be re-rolled.
As for the bomber, I'd say that the 4+ to knock down is
1) an effect of the bomb, not an action that a player is taking, and
2) essentially a determination, and thereby an extension, of the non-re-rollable Armor roll that may take place, and thus itself not subject to reroll.
When it comes down to it, what do we have that can be re-rolled that's NOT a Block die, a check vs. an ability, or a skill that can be used?
- Negatraits, including Always Hungry (still skills, but their use is forced)
- Re-rolling the Fanatic direction (specific ruling by BBRC)
- Re-rolling to escape from Tentacles or Shadowing (really an ability check)
Anything?

For the easy part: a wizard is not "a player on his own team" as specified in the re-roll rules, so nothing relating to a Wizard can ever be re-rolled.
As for the bomber, I'd say that the 4+ to knock down is
1) an effect of the bomb, not an action that a player is taking, and
2) essentially a determination, and thereby an extension, of the non-re-rollable Armor roll that may take place, and thus itself not subject to reroll.
When it comes down to it, what do we have that can be re-rolled that's NOT a Block die, a check vs. an ability, or a skill that can be used?
- Negatraits, including Always Hungry (still skills, but their use is forced)
- Re-rolling the Fanatic direction (specific ruling by BBRC)
- Re-rolling to escape from Tentacles or Shadowing (really an ability check)
Anything?
Reason: ''
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...
-
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 323
- Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 1:22 pm
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
Re: bb2016 reroll
I would think the fact that the wizard doesn't occur during a turn means you can't reroll it.
Reason: ''
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: bb2016 reroll
Yep, harder justification for a bomb though.Moraiwe wrote:I would think the fact that the wizard doesn't occur during a turn means you can't reroll it.
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
-
- Ex-Cyanide/Focus toadie
- Posts: 2565
- Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:55 pm
- Location: Near Reading, UK
Re: bb2016 reroll
LRB6 page 14 wording, please correct me if BB2016 is significantly different:
Bombardier rules:
1. The Bombardier is making the rolls - in this case a TRR could be used according to the RAW.
2. The bomb is making the rolls because the bomb is hitting the players (i.e. it's a "neutral" event like Weather) - in this case TRRs cannot be used.
3. The player being hit is making the rolls - in this case a TRR could be used if a player on the same team were being hit by the bomb.
Given the context I lean towards #2.
So a TRR can only be used on rolls made by a player on the team whose turn it is. That answers the Wizard question since the Wizard is not a player on the team.TEAM RE-ROLLS
Team re-rolls represent how well trained a team is. A coach may
use a team re-roll to re-roll any dice roll (other than Scatter,
Distance, Direction, Armour, Injury or Casualty rolls) made by a
player on his own team and who is still on the pitch during their
own turn (even if the dice roll was successful). The result of the
new roll must be accepted in place of the first, even if it is worse.
A coach may not use more than one Re-roll counter per turn,
and may not use a Re-roll counter to force the opposing coach to
re-roll a dice roll.
Bombardier rules:
It's far from clear from this whether the Bombardier is making the 4+ roll, although there are a few options I can think of:When the bomb finally does explode any player in the same square is Knocked Down, and players in adjacent squares are Knocked Down on a roll of 4+.
1. The Bombardier is making the rolls - in this case a TRR could be used according to the RAW.
2. The bomb is making the rolls because the bomb is hitting the players (i.e. it's a "neutral" event like Weather) - in this case TRRs cannot be used.
3. The player being hit is making the rolls - in this case a TRR could be used if a player on the same team were being hit by the bomb.
Given the context I lean towards #2.
Reason: ''
- lunchmoney
- Legend
- Posts: 9011
- Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:59 pm
- Location: The Dark Future
Re: bb2016 reroll
I'd lean towards not allowing a TRR on a bomb for #2 reason given above.
Reason: ''
Hired Goon for the NAF (rep for South West England, and UK approval staff)

lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
- Wifflebat
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:56 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA
Re: bb2016 reroll
It also says, players "are knocked down on a roll of 4+", not "the player rolls a D6 for each adjacent player" or something of that sort, which further leads me to believe that you're rolling for the effect of the bomb rather than something the player is doing.
Reason: ''
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...