Ball & Chain Questions
Moderator: TFF Mods
- Orcster
- Experienced
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:57 am
Ball & Chain Questions
I was down on TV in a game recently and induced a ball & chain to provide so hitting power. I also played against a goblin ball & chain in a tournament. A few questions arise from its use:
1. Does a ball & chain have to use its full movement each time? I believe the answer to be yes.
2. If the ball & chain player hits one of his own team mates that is standing who chooses the block dice used yourself as the controlling player or your opponent?
3. If the ball & chain is unlucky enough to knock down one of his team mates does this cause a turnover?
4. If the ball & chain moves into a square where one of his team mates is prone and injures/KOs him does this cause a turnover? I don’t think so. And who rolls the armour and injury?
Thanks
1. Does a ball & chain have to use its full movement each time? I believe the answer to be yes.
2. If the ball & chain player hits one of his own team mates that is standing who chooses the block dice used yourself as the controlling player or your opponent?
3. If the ball & chain is unlucky enough to knock down one of his team mates does this cause a turnover?
4. If the ball & chain moves into a square where one of his team mates is prone and injures/KOs him does this cause a turnover? I don’t think so. And who rolls the armour and injury?
Thanks
Reason: ''
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
1. Yes
2. You choose
3. Yes
4. [edit] no turnover, sorry! Remembered wrongly. Doesn't matter who rolls, really, but traditional for opponent.
2. You choose
3. Yes
4. [edit] no turnover, sorry! Remembered wrongly. Doesn't matter who rolls, really, but traditional for opponent.
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
- Orcster
- Experienced
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:57 am
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
Thank yousann0638 wrote:1. Yes
2. You choose
3. Yes
4. Yes, as they are counted as Knocked Down. Doesn't matter who rolls, really, but traditional for opponent.
For point 4 as the team mate was already knocked down before the ball & chain moves into the square was the one reason that raised doubt for me. So stunned, KO’d or injured would result in a turnover? As long as you don’t break the armour then I guess you continue as normal?
Reason: ''
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
[redacted] 

Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
- lunchmoney
- Legend
- Posts: 9011
- Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:59 pm
- Location: The Dark Future
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
Is it?
To B&C doesnt say it is counted as Knocked Down, just roll the armour and injury.
To B&C doesnt say it is counted as Knocked Down, just roll the armour and injury.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Reason: ''
Hired Goon for the NAF (rep for South West England, and UK approval staff)

lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
- lunchmoney
- Legend
- Posts: 9011
- Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:59 pm
- Location: The Dark Future
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
And being KO'd or injured is not on the list of Turnovers on page 7.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Reason: ''
Hired Goon for the NAF (rep for South West England, and UK approval staff)

lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
lunchmoneybb @ gmail.com
TOs! You do not need multiple copies of rosters. It's a waste of paper.
Bribe level: good coffee.
#FlingNation find me on page 95
- sann0638
- Kommissar Enthusiasmoff
- Posts: 6626
- Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 10:24 am
- Location: Swindon, England
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
Huh, interesting, I've just revisited the list that I obviously wrote far too long ago, and it's not a turnover if you hit your own player. I played that wrong when I used goblins! Oops...
https://www.thenaf.net/blood-bowl/rules ... ations/#15
https://www.thenaf.net/blood-bowl/rules ... ations/#15
Reason: ''
NAF Ex-President
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
Founder of SAWBBL, Swindon and Wiltshire's BB League - find us on Facebook and Discord
NAF Data wrangler
- Wifflebat
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:56 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
Maybe because the Bombardier skill says that players already on the ground are "treated as knocked down" (and would thus cause turnovers)?
Reason: ''
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...
-
- Rookie
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:47 am
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
Digging up the thread...
My Ball and Chain player VS an opposing player with Wrestle : I roll BothDown. My opponent uses Wrestle (my Ball and Chain is automatically out), but does it trigger a TurnOver ?
Seeing all previous posts makes me think it doesn't, but I just want to be sure.
Thank you
My Ball and Chain player VS an opposing player with Wrestle : I roll BothDown. My opponent uses Wrestle (my Ball and Chain is automatically out), but does it trigger a TurnOver ?
Seeing all previous posts makes me think it doesn't, but I just want to be sure.
Thank you
Reason: ''
-
- Super Star
- Posts: 815
- Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 5:37 pm
Re: Ball & Chain Questions
I'd say no turnover too. You get placed prone, then get an injury roll.
Reason: ''