Interception
Moderator: TFF Mods
- Bakunin
- Star Player
- Posts: 516
- Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:39 am
- Location: Norsca
Interception
What does the interception rules in the pic mean?
Do you count square's or is it meant in mm/cm etc?
Do you count square's or is it meant in mm/cm etc?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Reason: ''
Galak 3:16 says "There is a point in time that a player really should read the rulebook."
- Bakunin
- Star Player
- Posts: 516
- Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:39 am
- Location: Norsca
Re: Interception
XC
TX
T throws to C
Can any of the Xs try to intercept?
TX
T throws to C
Can any of the Xs try to intercept?
Reason: ''
Galak 3:16 says "There is a point in time that a player really should read the rulebook."
- Wifflebat
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:56 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA
Re: Interception
This is the one place where you're expected to actually measure the distance (or use your Pythagorean Theorem). It's just a precise way of determining that the interceptor is "in between" the passer and the target.
Reason: ''
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...
- Wifflebat
- Emerging Star
- Posts: 476
- Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:56 pm
- Location: Ohio, USA
Re: Interception
Yes. Serves T right for not just handing off.Bakunin wrote:XC
TX
T throws to C
Can any of the Xs try to intercept?

Reason: ''
I was Puzzlemonkey, but now I'm Wifflebat. Please forward my mail...
- Regash
- Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
- Posts: 1610
- Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:09 am
- Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Re: Interception
As I read this very complictaed way of putting it, it simply means that the guys intercepting always needs to be BETWEEN the thrower and the receiver or target square.
You cannot intercept from behind or beside the thrower or receiver.
At least, this is how we always played it.
Wasn't there also a rule that the range ruler also had to pass at least partially over the interceptors base?
I really can't remember right now...
You cannot intercept from behind or beside the thrower or receiver.
At least, this is how we always played it.
Wasn't there also a rule that the range ruler also had to pass at least partially over the interceptors base?
I really can't remember right now...
Reason: ''
- Loki
- Legend
- Posts: 2583
- Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:10 am
- Location: Bristol, UK
Re: Interception
I think was originally interceptors square but I think the word base crept in which caused some semantic confusion but was clarified as still being square.
Basic statement is correct i.e. when passing... does range ruler catch proposed interceptors square then check is that square closer to throwers square than catchers and is that square closer to the catchers than the throwers = make interception attempt.
Basic statement is correct i.e. when passing... does range ruler catch proposed interceptors square then check is that square closer to throwers square than catchers and is that square closer to the catchers than the throwers = make interception attempt.
Reason: ''
- Bakunin
- Star Player
- Posts: 516
- Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:39 am
- Location: Norsca
Re: Interception
Here from tom anders:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=36657&p=645919&hil ... wg#p645919
which means, just some of the interpection square, needs to be between the center of the throwers square and the center of the catchers square. "the center thing is here very importen.
You do not count sqaure's...
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=36657&p=645919&hil ... wg#p645919
which means, just some of the interpection square, needs to be between the center of the throwers square and the center of the catchers square. "the center thing is here very importen.
You do not count sqaure's...
Reason: ''
Galak 3:16 says "There is a point in time that a player really should read the rulebook."
- Loki
- Legend
- Posts: 2583
- Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 10:10 am
- Location: Bristol, UK
Re: Interception
I think what you are trying to say is correct but that sentence is wrong, i.e. you don't count squares is right, 'the interception square does not need to be between the center of the throwers square and the center of the catchers square' is wrong. Just some of the interception square need to be under the edge of the interception template and the distance between the center of the throwers squares and the center of the interceptors squares needs to be less than the distance from the center of the throwers square to the center of the catchers square AND the distance between the interceptors square and the catchers square needs to be less than the distance from the center of the throwers square to the center of the catchers square.Bakunin wrote:which means, just some of the interpection square, needs to be between the center of the throwers square and the center of the catchers square.
Its not tidy because its words trying to explain a concept

Reason: ''
- Regash
- Ex-Mega Star, now just a Super Star
- Posts: 1610
- Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 11:09 am
- Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Re: Interception
According to the old thread you linked, this could only be intercepted if the throw was diagonally, not straight to West, East, South or North.Bakunin wrote:XC
TX
T throws to C
Can any of the Xs try to intercept?
Interesting...
@Loki:
Yeah, of course!
"Base" was wrong, "square§ was the term to use.
My bad, I'm ashamed.
Reason: ''
- rolo
- Super Star
- Posts: 1188
- Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:38 am
- Location: Paradise Stadium, where the pitch is green and the cheerleaders are pretty.
Re: Interception
CyberedElf released the Interception App:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... tion&hl=en
I've been using it, I like it because it just completely removes subjectivity and discussion about is-that-square-under-the-ruler.
If your player is standing on a marked square, they can intercept. Otherwise, can't.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... tion&hl=en
I've been using it, I like it because it just completely removes subjectivity and discussion about is-that-square-under-the-ruler.
If your player is standing on a marked square, they can intercept. Otherwise, can't.
Reason: ''
"It's 2+ and I have a reroll. Chill out. I've got this!"
