Off for a Bite (new version) posers....
Moderator: TFF Mods
- Joemanji
- Power Gamer
- Posts: 9508
- Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 3:08 pm
- Location: ECBBL, London, England
Off for a Bite (new version) posers....
Couple of questions:
1) If a vampire is stunned, must he still make an OfaB roll? Even though, were he to fail it, it would automatically cause a turnover?
Relevent passages from rules:
re: stunned players - "All they may do for their next action is turn face up" (BBannual 2002, page 2)
re: Off for a Bite - If the player does not end his action [standing] next to a Thrall from his own team, then ... this is a turnover"
In my league, we always count turning over a stunned player as an action. So bonehead players must roll before the do so, etc.
2) If a vampire has the ball, and is near enough to score a touchdown, does it count as a turnover if he scores without ending his action next to a thrall?
A TD is scored, and so the game is restarted, when a player ENTERS the endzone with the ball. A vampire rushes off the pitch if he ENDS his action not standing next to a thrall. Which takes precedence? Which ends first, the vampires action or the turn?[/i]
1) If a vampire is stunned, must he still make an OfaB roll? Even though, were he to fail it, it would automatically cause a turnover?
Relevent passages from rules:
re: stunned players - "All they may do for their next action is turn face up" (BBannual 2002, page 2)
re: Off for a Bite - If the player does not end his action [standing] next to a Thrall from his own team, then ... this is a turnover"
In my league, we always count turning over a stunned player as an action. So bonehead players must roll before the do so, etc.
2) If a vampire has the ball, and is near enough to score a touchdown, does it count as a turnover if he scores without ending his action next to a thrall?
A TD is scored, and so the game is restarted, when a player ENTERS the endzone with the ball. A vampire rushes off the pitch if he ENDS his action not standing next to a thrall. Which takes precedence? Which ends first, the vampires action or the turn?[/i]
Reason: ''
- GalakStarscraper
- Godfather of Blood Bowl
- Posts: 15882
- Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
- Location: Indiana, USA
- Contact:
The wording for OFAB is going to be changed when the team is made official to clear up those 2 questions as they are 2 of the 3 most frequently asked.
Try the new wording that will be used when the team is official and I think it will take care of your questions:
http://www.midgardbb.com/GWTeams/RevisedGWRosters.html
or if you don't want to bother with the link:
Try the new wording that will be used when the team is official and I think it will take care of your questions:
http://www.midgardbb.com/GWTeams/RevisedGWRosters.html
or if you don't want to bother with the link:
GalakA player with this characteristic must occasionally feed on the blood of the living. At the start of any action where the player is not stunned, roll a D6. On a 2+ the player may carry out the action as normal. On a '1', however, the player is overcome with a desire for blood. The player's team loses the declared action for that turn and the player must instead make a Move Action. If the player finishes moving standing adjacent to a Thrall from his own team, immediately roll for unmodified injury on that Thrall (an injury to the Thrall is not a turnover unless he was holding the ball). If the player does not finish moving next to a Thrall from his own team, then he runs into Reserves to find a pretty maiden groupie to quench his thirst. Place him in the reserves box, this is a turnover (if he was holding the ball it scatters once from the final square of his movement.) The Vampire's Move action is not consided ended until he injures a Thrall or runs into Reserves.
Reason: ''
-
- Legend
- Posts: 4567
- Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 5:48 pm
- Location: Camping on private island, per BBRC advice.
I'm 90% certain that these questions were brought up somewhere else, but for the life of me I can't find the topic.
From my somewhat patchy recollection, I beleive that you don't roll the COFAB for the stunned vampire. Also, the Vampire must try to feed on the thrall, and can't detour into the end zone to avoid the negative penalty.
From my somewhat patchy recollection, I beleive that you don't roll the COFAB for the stunned vampire. Also, the Vampire must try to feed on the thrall, and can't detour into the end zone to avoid the negative penalty.
Reason: ''
[url=http://www.bloodbowl.net/naf.php?page=tournamentinfo&uname=skummy]Skummy's Tourney History[/url]
- Darkson
- Da Spammer
- Posts: 24047
- Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
- Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
- Contact:
-
- Legend
- Posts: 1913
- Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2002 10:12 pm
- Location: Sacramento, CA
Out of curiosity, What happens if the Vamp must make a dodge on his way to a thrall, and fails. Obviously it is a turnover, but does he also go into the reserves?
He has been knocked down, do we assume that, instead of falling, he tranforms into a bat and flies over to the reserve box?
Asperon Thorn
He has been knocked down, do we assume that, instead of falling, he tranforms into a bat and flies over to the reserve box?
Asperon Thorn
Reason: ''
Looking for Fair and Balanced Playtesting of the DE Runner 7347 Surehands G,A,Pa 90K - Outdated and done.
- Darkson
- Da Spammer
- Posts: 24047
- Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
- Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
- Contact:
Yep, you make the AV roll, then apply the worst result. If the AV roll is passed, or it was a Stun, then it's back to the Reserves box.
Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.
- DoubleSkulls
- Da Admin
- Posts: 8219
- Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 12:55 pm
- Location: Back in the UK
- Contact:
- GalakStarscraper
- Godfather of Blood Bowl
- Posts: 15882
- Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
- Location: Indiana, USA
- Contact:
Nope. Same rules for throwing Flings without the ball. TTM pass the Fling .. fails the landing ... fails the AV check = Stunned. Since he hasn't taken an action yet he can destun. Its exactly the same for the Thrall.ianwilliams wrote:An interesting one came up the other day. A vampire fails his OFAB roll, so moves next to a prone Thrall - sucks his blood and stuns him. So the thrall, who hadn't taken his action yet, just de-stuns in his action.
Was this wrong?
Galak
Reason: ''
- GalakStarscraper
- Godfather of Blood Bowl
- Posts: 15882
- Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
- Location: Indiana, USA
- Contact:
Yes that was the 3rd FAQ with the new OFAB rules.Nazgit wrote:What was the 3rd question? What happens to the ball if a vamp runs off the pitch?
The 4th most common one is one that we decided was just players getting used to the rules. The question was: Can a Vampire OFAB suck a Stunned or Prone Thrall ... and the similar. Can two Vampires attack the same Thrall if the first one only Stuns him.
The answer to both is yes since the rules doesn't say anything about the Thrall needing to be standing up. No special rewording for this as the rule is pretty clear ... these 2 questions are more players 2nd guessing what they might think should be rule but isn't.
Galak
Reason: ''
- Mike_Black
- Experienced
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 10:55 am
- Location: Kiel, Germany
- Contact:
vampire move
If the vampire rolls a "1". Do I have to move him next to a thrall?
I could think of the situation where my vampire has the ball. He rolls the "1" and so he takes a Move-Action. He moves right to a vampire who stands near the endzone. He drops the ball - as no thrall is next to him - and goes off to reserve. Ball scatters. Turnover. Hopefully in my next turn the other vampire takes the ball and scores.
Is this possible?
I could think of the situation where my vampire has the ball. He rolls the "1" and so he takes a Move-Action. He moves right to a vampire who stands near the endzone. He drops the ball - as no thrall is next to him - and goes off to reserve. Ball scatters. Turnover. Hopefully in my next turn the other vampire takes the ball and scores.
Is this possible?
Reason: ''
- GalakStarscraper
- Godfather of Blood Bowl
- Posts: 15882
- Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2001 12:00 am
- Location: Indiana, USA
- Contact:
Re: vampire move
Perfectly legal.Mike_Black wrote:If the vampire rolls a "1". Do I have to move him next to a thrall?
I could think of the situation where my vampire has the ball. He rolls the "1" and so he takes a Move-Action. He moves right to a vampire who stands near the endzone. He drops the ball - as no thrall is next to him - and goes off to reserve. Ball scatters. Turnover. Hopefully in my next turn the other vampire takes the ball and scores.
Is this possible?
Galak
Reason: ''
- Darkson
- Da Spammer
- Posts: 24047
- Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:04 pm
- Location: The frozen ruins of Felstad
- Contact:
And the moral of the story is, as a vampire coach, pray for the Iron Man handicap on a thrall, makes OFAB soooo much easier to live withGalakStarscraper wrote:The 4th most common one is one that we decided was just players getting used to the rules. The question was: Can a Vampire OFAB suck a Stunned or Prone Thrall ... and the similar. Can two Vampires attack the same Thrall if the first one only Stuns him.
The answer to both is yes since the rules doesn't say anything about the Thrall needing to be standing up. No special rewording for this as the rule is pretty clear ... these 2 questions are more players 2nd guessing what they might think should be rule but isn't.


Reason: ''
Currently an ex-Blood Bowl coach, most likely to be found dying to Armoured Skeletons in the frozen ruins of Felstad, or bleeding into the arena sands of Rome or burning rubber for Mars' entertainment.