Page 1 of 2

Assisting a treeman getting up

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 6:53 pm
by Yavatol
A treeman needs to get a 4+ to stand up. There was an option that you could assist him. But it was left out in the LRB. However, in the background material of the 2002 Handbook the rule is still there (at page 75). Does that mean the rule is still in effect? Isn't the 2002 Handbook combined with the 2003 manual and some errata mend to be the same as LRB 2.0?

I would be grateful if somebody can clarify this matter.

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 7:13 pm
by Grumbledook
the rule was removed its just a 4+ to get up for any player with less than 3 movement

the rulebook in the box with the game was out of date before it was even released :/

the living rulebook is the full most up to date rules

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 7:20 pm
by slackman
yup, they took it out. i was really rather upset about it, as my flings could no longer help my treeman to his feet.

slackman42

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 8:31 pm
by Asmodan
It got removed so its always 4+ now.
And as grumble said the manual is out of date, LRB2 is the newest and most accurate version of the rules.

Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2003 8:41 pm
by Skummy
They also removed the bit of fluff that requires the Undead to have a necromancer to create a zombie and use regenerate. They can still do this if their coach gets thrown out of the game. :-?

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:00 am
by MixX
slackman wrote:yup, they took it out. i was really rather upset about it, as my flings could no longer help my treeman to his feet.

slackman42
Well, it didn't make much sense that 'flings could make any difference for the treeman anyway.. I mean, what does a treeman weigh? 500 pounds??

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 12:53 pm
by HotsalZa
mmhh
I have the actual BB german rule book in hand and since BB just got released here in Germany 5 months ago (relaunch) i guess this is the most actuall rulebook at hand and we have the assist rule on page 75 still included.

So i would guess its still affective since all changes that were made in the LRB 2.0 are all consistent in the german rulebook.

i didnt get hand on the 2003 anual yet, and in no current WD is anything mentioned about removing this rule !

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:17 pm
by Grumbledook
i think the german rulebook is just a language conversion of the english one

they are the same as LRB v1 iirc

there is turn around time between stuff getting sent to the printers and then actually being distributed

and in during that time newer versions of the LRB have come out v1.3 and currently v2

its not in version 2 which is newer than the printed handbooks so that means its been dropped and is no longer in the rules

Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 2:03 pm
by GalakStarscraper
JJ was very clear on this for tournament purposes.

The current LRB overrules the Handbook.

Galak

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 3:21 am
by Orin
Skummy wrote:They also removed the bit of fluff that requires the Undead to have a necromancer to create a zombie and use regenerate. They can still do this if their coach gets thrown out of the game. :-?

But this doesn't matter does it, since coaches can no longer be booted from the game as one cannot argue the call with the ref anymore.

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 3:58 am
by slackman
erm, since when are you not allowed to argue the call?

slackman42

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:59 am
by Sceadeau
Orin wrote:
Skummy wrote:They also removed the bit of fluff that requires the Undead to have a necromancer to create a zombie and use regenerate. They can still do this if their coach gets thrown out of the game. :-?

But this doesn't matter does it, since coaches can no longer be booted from the game as one cannot argue the call with the ref anymore.
LRB pg 18:

...every time the referee sends off one or more of your players, or issues an illegal procedure call against you, or bans the use of a secret weapon, you may argue the call with him. Roll a D6. On a roll of 1 he expels you from the game, so you may not argue any more calls for the rest of the match. On a roll of 2-5 he ignores you and his call stands. On a roll of 6 he accepts your argument and reverses his decision.

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 10:44 am
by Robotorz
HotsalZa wrote:mmhh
I have the actual BB german rule book in hand and since BB just got released here in Germany 5 months ago (relaunch) i guess this is the most actuall rulebook at hand and we have the assist rule on page 75 still included.

So i would guess its still affective since all changes that were made in the LRB 2.0 are all consistent in the german rulebook.

i didnt get hand on the 2003 anual yet, and in no current WD is anything mentioned about removing this rule !
THats the reason I sold my 4th Edition German Boxed set to a friend. The rules are NOT updated and they just put some new rules in and did not remove the old ones that where replaced....

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 1:46 pm
by Orin
Sceadeau wrote:LRB pg 18:

...every time the referee sends off one or more of your players, or issues an illegal procedure call against you, or bans the use of a secret weapon, you may argue the call with him. Roll a D6. On a roll of 1 he expels you from the game, so you may not argue any more calls for the rest of the match. On a roll of 2-5 he ignores you and his call stands. On a roll of 6 he accepts your argument and reverses his decision.
My Handbook page 18 has the kick off table, doesn't mention argueing the call anywhere, so my handbook probably isn't the same thing as LRB. My bad probably.

Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 2:07 pm
by DoubleSkulls