Page 1 of 1

Quick Vampire Skill roll question

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:18 pm
by fen
Ok my Vamp team has 3 Vampires with Block plus one with Pro + Sure Hands (He's just a stop-gap ball carrier/pseudo thrower that'll be retiring soon, I kind of messed up with him.)

One of the 3 Vamps has rolled 11 for +AG. Now she's already got Block, but I'm left wondering if I should take the +AG. I can't think of what I can do with her that I can't already do thanks to Hypnotic Gaze.

Sure she would Gaze better and dodge into tackle zones on a 2+ but what else could I do with her? I'm struggling to think of a role for her if I take +AG over becoming a Blodger.

Thoughts?

Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:21 pm
by Skummy
Agility on a Vamp is great. They make for much better throwers, they can gaze in a tackle zone, and you can always take Leap to really throw fear into your oppo on defence. A 4 ST leaper is someone you have to account for every turn.

Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 6:51 am
by Sharky2k
as skummy said.
+ag on vamp take always

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:31 pm
by Cooper
no question, take it.
W

Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 7:07 pm
by fen
Cool, I penciled in the +1AG anyway, this means I don't have to change it. :)

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 12:32 am
by Ravage
TAKE IT

With luck you could have him turn into this :D http://fumbbl.com/FUMBBL.php?page=playe ... id=1749222

seriously, AG5 is good for so many things it's ridiculous NOT to take it. You have pretty much free reign of the pitch at that point, and with ST4 your opponents will definitely be afraid.

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:01 am
by Chairface
What they said! :wink:

Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:51 pm
by Coach Alex
+1

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:57 am
by Trob
Yep, definately KEEP the +AG.
I have a +AG vamp who already had Block, Guard. He's that much better at dodging in to lend an assist as well as Hypnotic Gaze. Not to mention a good thrower if you need to make the longer passes. I will probably develop him into a pass blocker just to annoy my opponents! Anything that enhances the vampires mobility is usefull

IMO vampires need to be jack of all trades to be successfull, to do anything dependant on the situation - dodge, pass, pick up the ball, block, etc.

I've built my team around the Hypnotic Gaze skill, since you can use it even if you fail the OFAB. My set up is fairly aggressive on the kick off, because I'm hoping for 'Perfect Defense' or 'Blitz' (in combination with a Kicker) & the oppurtunity to pressure the receivers. Stealing the ball out from under their noses is the real advantage of the Vampire team & nobody does it quite as well.

regards,
Trob

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 9:26 am
by Cooper
Trob wrote:I've built my team around the Hypnotic Gaze skill, since you can use it even if you fail the OFAB.
I haven't checked the rules,...but i sthis true? Isnt gazing an action like all the others? (which you will lose when OFABing)

W

Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 10:31 am
by Cloggy
Yes, it is true.

The rules specify that hypnotic gaze may be used a t he end of a move action, and the OFAB rules say that the Vampire may only take a movement action. Off course the hypno gaze target stiil needs to be next to a thrall for this combo to work.....

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:45 pm
by Cooper
Cloggy wrote:Yes, it is true.

The rules specify that hypnotic gaze may be used a t he end of a move action, and the OFAB rules say that the Vampire may only take a movement action. Off course the hypno gaze target stiil needs to be next to a thrall for this combo to work.....
cool!
thx,...


Just to be sure now.
Whatever action i call (say blitz) if i fail the thirst roll i can move and gaze?

W

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:47 pm
by Trob
Cooper wrote:
Cloggy wrote:Yes, it is true.

The rules specify that hypnotic gaze may be used a t he end of a move action, and the OFAB rules say that the Vampire may only take a movement action. Off course the hypno gaze target stiil needs to be next to a thrall for this combo to work.....
cool!
thx,...


Just to be sure now.
Whatever action i call (say blitz) if i fail the thirst roll i can move and gaze?

W
Yes, exactly as Cloggy said.
If you fail the thirst roll on a blitz, you will lose your blitz action of course & don't forget that you have to make an injury roll (unmodified) on any standing or prone thrall at the end of your move action (even if you score first).
This means with vamps you have to be extra careful to move thralls first & expect to fail those OFAB rolls.

regards,
Trob.

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 5:01 pm
by fen
Especially in the case of the Vampire ball carrier, having that player fail an OFAB roll and be forced to run backwards or towards danger is a nightmare.

You really want a thrall escort moving ahead of them in that case. With a spare vampire to clear the way if required.

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:23 pm
by tigershark2000
Exactly that happened the other night. Had to wait two damn turns till I could score, because of this damn ofab. Thrall was to slow to reach the endzone and vampire stunned him so i had to move another one the other turn next to the end zone, cause the vampire rolled that damned one again!!

I lost 3-1 anyway, so ...


But to stay with the topic always get that AG, ST, M increases.!!!